Hi,

I'm hoping someone out there can help me, I am trying to create a basic application that transmits GPS co ordinates of the device to a server. I am a complete noobie to socket programming (well, I covered the bare basics in college this year).

As a stepping stone, I am following an online tutorial, that creates the server, and the android client, it is designed to send an input from the user to the server and the server prints it on the console.
I'm becoming quite familar with how to set up the basics of the server and the client i.e. opening ports etc. The problem with this is, when hit send, the app crashes, when tested on the emulator, there is obviously an issue, but I can't see it.

When I test with device, and hit send, there is nothing printed to the console. I've attached both the client and server code below, the ip in the code below is for the emulator, I change this to my device ip with testing with it.

****SERVER****

public class Additional_Server {

private static ServerSocket serverSocket;
    private static Socket clientSocket;
    private static InputStreamReader inputStreamReader;
    private static BufferedReader bufferedReader;
    private static String message;

public static void main(String[] args) {

try {
            serverSocket = new ServerSocket(2001); // Server socket

} catch (IOException e) {
            System.out.println("Could not listen on port: 2001");
        }

System.out.println("Server started. Listening to the port 2001");

while (true) {
            try {

clientSocket = serverSocket.accept(); // accept the client connection

inputStreamReader = new InputStreamReader(
                        clientSocket.getInputStream());
                bufferedReader = new BufferedReader(inputStreamReader); // get the client message
                message = bufferedReader.readLine();

System.out.println(message);
                inputStreamReader.close();
                clientSocket.close();

} catch (IOException ex) {