I need to create a KeyStroke encryption, i studied about it and the theory is this:

• Check the keystate before keyloggers do it
  • Cancel the action of the key
  • get the active window
  • Simulate a virtual key in this window

I can make the last three items, but the first one is where i need help...How can i solve this?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Am not sure you can. You can create a keyboard hook, but so do the loggers. I don't think you can say for sure which of the apps receives the keystate first.

It will be a global hook right?I don't know how i do that...

That link was indeed a nice one for my personal purposes.:*

However.
As it goes, the hook is inserted in some Windows API.
I am pretty sure that some viruses can access the keyboard directly via hardware.
All in all, Windows API does just that too, and if you ask a windows API for keyboard events, then this is controlled by this API first. In other words, your program will not be the first to read the keyboard.

Without actually knowing 100% sure, I think the method to use is best done via Assembler code and redirecting Keyboard scan interrupt to your own assembler routines for then to direct the flow of control back to original address of original interrupt.

Back in the old days, before I fell in love with Turbo Pascal, I wrote some simple ASM code on the commodore 64 that redirected interrupts.
A much simpler computer with easier memory handling, but the basics of computers has not changed. Even the most advanced and sophisticated computer today depends on the same basic stuff of interrupts for many actions.
With the layer of Windows on top, it is not easy to find the right information on how to be allowed to change such an interrupt after Windows have started up.

My best suggestion is to write an assembler program, A kind of Keyboard Driver, one that loads into computer memory BEFORE windows starts up.