Hello i am new in perl scripting.I have to write a script to check for .c file and then go in to the ,c file and find all function and insert line1 after { and line2 before } or before return( if return is present). Can any1 plz help me in it.

Ex:

Function(.........)
   {
    insert line1;
    insert line2;
    # if return is present add before it
   }

Recommended Answers

All 23 Replies

You have to read .c file and write to some other file, while checking the requirements.

i have done till there. i am reading .c files in the folder but i am not sure how to check if it a function or not becoz there is noo regular pattern for the functions in the .c file. Do u know any method or so to check it out

Thanks & Regards

easiest way is to

(1) do a dir (ls) listing of directory contents, parse each one for a .c extention. start with the first .c file...

(2) open the .c file for READ, to a file handle.

(3) open a new .c file to WRITE to a different file handle and make it's filename similar to the original one being read from in step 2 (like using same name, but adding a "-mod" after the filename)

(4) read each line of original file.

(5) search for each function, and keep strict count of number of opening brackets, and number of closing brackets ( '{' and '}' )

(6) write each of the the lines read from the original file to the new file, exactly as read.

(7) write an additional "extra line 1" only after the first opening bracket '{', and write teh additional "extra line 2" right before the last closing bracket '}'

(8) repeat steps 5 - 7 until all functions are completed and end of file is reached

(9) close both the read file and write file, and then move to the next .c file in your directory.

(10) repeat steps #2 - #10 for the next .c file, until all .c files are completed.

as for checking whether or not it is a function... each subroutine in C starts with one or more return type:

int, long, short, double, float, void, char, unsigned ...