Hello,

I am new to the perl programming language and I have a question. I was wondering if it was possible to implement an array of strings that contains video files?

I also wanted to know if it was possible to create state machines using the perl programming language? Thank you in advance.

On a side note: I have looked online about state machines but have only seen examples written in c code and not perl. I also know how to create string arrays, I'm just confused on how I would create an array of strings that contains video files.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

To clarify, I would like to know how to create an array that contains files. For example, say you have a folder with 8 files. I would like to place those 8 files into array[0] through array[7].

Also is there a way to set your array to a certain file size? thank you in advance.

Hello,

I am new to the perl programming language and I have a question. I was wondering if it was possible to implement an array of strings that contains video files?

I also wanted to know if it was possible to create state machines using the perl programming language? Thank you in advance.

On a side note: I have looked online about state machines but have only seen examples written in c code and not perl. I also know how to create string arrays, I'm just confused on how I would create an array of strings that contains video files.

My platform is Windows and there happen to be some files whose filenames end in '.txt' in the current directory. Some of them are larger than 3,000 bytes.

#!/usr/bin/perl -w
use strict;
#Get list of filenames ending in .txt, test for file (not directory) attribute
# and test that file size is greater than 3000
#Put list of filenames into an array
my @files = grep { -f and (-s > 3000) } glob( '*.txt' );

#Print each filename in array, separated by newline
foreach my $f (@files) {
    my $filesize = -s $f;
    printf "%-25s size is %15d \n", ($f, $filesize);
}