hi,

I am new to perl. actually, i'm using perl with SOAP::Lite to access a web server. I wrote some code in a notepad and saved it in c:/perl/eg.
by typing 'perl filename.txt' after changing the directory into c/perl/eg> in command prompt, i am getting the result what i want. it is accessing the web server what i specified in the code and it's giving the output what i need. but i am unable to run pure perl script in command prompt. i typed a simple perl programme to print the elements of an array in a text file and saved it in the same location like earlier. and tried to compile it via command prompt just like earlier. but i can't get any result. and it's saying can't open perl script and there is no such file or directory. i don't understand what the problem is. could u please help with it as early as possible. actually, i have to add some perl code within the earlier code to read a text file and take the elements of that text file and to save them in an array. later those elements should be used one by one in a foreach loop in the code what i've written already. i hope u will solve my doubt as soon as possible.

thank you.
chandra

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

You have to use the -e switch to execute code from the command line:

perl -e "print \"Hello World\";"

so, u want me to write the code and save it in a text file and type perl -e and the file name on command line?

Hi,

so, u want me to write the code and save it in a text file and type perl -e and the file name on command line?

Depends,
1. you can write perl code and save it as .pl (for eg. program1.pl) and run.
2. make it executable by inluding shebang* line(in case of UNIX). To run on windows make sure you have set the path to perl interpreter correctly. Then you can run your program like, >perl program1.pl The shebang* line, nothing but path to interpreter in your machine, for eg:
in windows( the path may be different on your machine. Depends on where you have installed Perl.