Ok, I am fairly new in using Python, but have a pretty good understanding of it. But I'm up against something that I just can't figure out.

I have an archived file that I am trying to take apart into individual files. It isn't a zip file, but an ascii file of individual files concatenated together with NULLs (hex 00) and CRs between them.

I wrote a function that rips through the file line by line and replaces the NULLs with CRs, and then I go through it again and remove the lines that start with a CR. This works great, and I rip through a 1 MB file in 2 seconds. But, some of the files have a random hex1A, which is an EOF. I tried opening the file with "rb" instead of "r", but then I lose my carriage returns in the resulting files (either Python or Windows must be doing something to the files when I open it in binary). When I open it with "r", it simply will not go past the first "x1A".

Any ideas?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Different Operating Systems use different CR, Linux uses '\n' and Windows uses '\r\n' and the Mac uses '\r'. This might cause your problem. Take a hexeditor and look at your file. If you have a two byte CR you will have to replace accordingly.

Just as an idea, I knew that UNIX'sCR=0D 0A, and Windows 0A 0A...I have SPE Editor which makes 0A 0A Carriage Returns in python files for example, and PyScripter which makes 0D 0A....But x1A is quite special..

It's the Ctrl+Z ...

Thanks for the replies. Let me descripe this in a little more detail:

The archive is mostly text. But, there are NULLs embedded within the lines. For instance, let's say the orginal text is this:

This is a test.'\n'
This is the next test.'\n'
This is the third test.'\n'

After another third party software archives the text, I might end up with something like this (I have no control over this; long story):

This is '\x00' '\x00' '\x00'a t'\x00' '\x00' est.'\n'
'\x00' '\x00' This is the next '\x00' '\x00' test.'\n'
This '\x00' '\x00' is the third test. '\n'