I just started learning Python Last Night and I am curious of how to put a pause at the end.

I did the Famous Hello World Program and when saved and Executed it seems like it runs and closes before I can even read the text.

I tried

raw_input("Press ENTER to exit")

Not sure if this matters but I am Creating my programs in Notepad (notepad.exe). I save the File as something.py

Saves just Fine and when I run the Program it opens a screen for less than a second.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

First try using idle instead of Notepad. You can enter, save, and run the program from Idle. It should be under the python and then idlelib directories, and is something like Idle.py-I don't remember. That will solve the immediate problem. Your solution should work also, so it may be that it is in a part of the program that is not reached. Post the entire program if you want more info. To answer the question directly, use time.sleep(seconds)

import time
print "Starting Program"
time.sleep(2)
print "2 seconds are up already"

Edit: Here is a link to the python docs. See the "Starting IDLE on Windows" section and welcome to Python. http://www.python.org/idle/doc/idle2.html

>>> print "hello World"

That is all I have for my code

>>> print "hello World"

That is all I have for my code

Works for me on Linux. Try

print "Hello World"

It may be that when you enter the program name on the command line, it's using that Enter for the raw input. (Being a Linux person I would just say that MS Windows is weird.) Anyway, post back with the solution if you find it. Someone else will surely be searching for that in the future.

Nope still Closes right away. I even used the IDLE Python(GUI) saved it and tried running and still closes

I took a look at that Page Zzucker I did what it said and still having the issue