I've realized that it would be very helpful to me to SET the mouse cursor to a particular location. Having done the usual internet searches, I can't seem to find anything on how to do it. Any ideas?

(So I'm still set on converting to wx, but the project I've just done in Tkinter needs to get finished ASAP. It's an experiment and we need to start running participants.)

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Hmm, I don't think I want either of those things. I want to be able to tell the program to move the mouse cursor to position x, y.

use mouseover or mousefocus at X,Y

use mouseover or mousefocus at X,Y

We are talking about the Tkinter GUI toolkit. There are no such methods.

widget.focus() puts the cursor to a widget

module turtle (uses tkinter) has a method goto(x,y)

Aot,

Did you find a solution?

regards

Nope, never found a solution in Tkinter.

I can't think of any practical use for this.

I can't think of any practical use for this.

I'm a cognitive scientist; I use python to code experiments which often present stimuli to participants that they respond to. If I am timing their responses, sometimes I want very precise control over where the mouse cursor is.

In this particular case, I was making an experiment where participants would see two stimuli, one after another (say a circle and then a bigger circle), and then they would have to rate each on a vertical scale of radio buttons. Because I was timing them, I wanted the mouse cursor to always start in the middle of the scale, so I could time how long it took them to move the cursor from the middle to whichever button they chose.

Originally I just wanted the cursor to disappear during the stimuli presentation, but I couldn't find a way to do that, so I thought perhaps I could simply set the cursor to the center at the start of the radio-button rating.