Hai guys,
A very good morning to you.Currently i'm using python3 in linux. In windows tkinter is working fine but in mandriva linux spring 2009 it fails to import. Can you please tell me step-by-step on how to fix this issue? In python3.1 home page the
description is not clear or it can't be understood by the beginner. As
i'm a beginner for programming python in linux please help me out. I
want to know what is the thing i missed during installation. I've done
the things correctly as mentioned in the python readme text inside the
python3.1 tarball file.what should i do now?

import _tkinter # If this fails your Python may not be configured for Tk

This community is really helpful...

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

You probably need at least libtk-devel and libtcl-devel to build with tkinter.

Sorry as i already said i'm new to linux and python. Previously i worked with windows and had no problems. Can you please tell me how to get and install the above mentioned packages.. Your help is much appreciated...

In the applications menu of your desktop panel, you select install software (you need the root password for this). This opens the software manager, which has a search form. Put libtcl in the search form, then check the package you want in the list. Then click on the button at the bottom of the widget to install the package. Repeat with libtk.
Then go to your python source dir and try to rebuild.

Millions of thanks gribouillis for your reply again. I've searched my install & remove software repository. You've mentioned about two library files. As far as libtk is concerned it's ok. Please see the pic. [IMG]http://i37.tinypic.com/2mgktc2.jpg[/IMG]. But when i searched for libtcl it shows like this [IMG]http://i33.tinypic.com/orrm7d.jpg[/IMG]. For this i've inserted the mandriva DVD and installed the rpm for libtcl. But still the status is the same. what should i do now?