Hello, I am new to this.

What I am trying to do is take a .txt file and write parts of it to different lists. The file contains line sof FCODE,DESCRIPTION
such as this:
DAAS44,AIRSTRIP region ruin/inactive/abandoned

I would like to split each line into FCODE and DESCRIPTION strings and append them to FCODE and DESCRIPTION lists so that I can retrieve entries in those lists later in the program.

I am reading the text file as follows:

infile = open(name, "r")
lines = infile.readlines()

This gives me a list where each line seems to be a string

## create a regular expression to find all strings beginning with RR
    ##these represent road feature codes. 
    reobj = re.compile("^RR[A-Z]")
    ## set up lists for the fcode and description
    fcode=[]
    desc=[]
    for line in lines:
        if re.search(reobj,line):
            fcline=line.split(",")
            fcode=fcline[0]
            desc=fcline[1]
            print desc
            fcode=re.split("[\b]",fcode)

What I am trying to do is split the fcode and the descriptions and get strings that each have a unique index value. While splitting the fcode and descriptions seems to work, the resulting lists only have 0,1 index values so I cant retrieve individual strings by index value.

I thought the problem might be caused by reading in the txt file all at once rather then one line at a time, but the indexing seems to work and I can take a slice of more then just [0:1] so the problem has to be with he way Im using the search regular expression.

Another thing I had considered doing beyond this is splitting the description into uppercase and lowercase sections and adding each section to its own list, however I do not know the regular expression to separate uppercase words from lowercase words and numbers.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Your program seems too complicated for what you are trying to do. You could split the lines on the first "," without regular expressions:

def rr_lines(lines):