I have a csv file with 4 columns that I want to use to create menus.
For example, the second column has values such as "TEST", "QA", "PROD" and a couple of others. I want to take all the values from the second column, weed out the duplicates, then create a menu allowing the users to select all the records with, say, QA in the second column. How is the best way to go about this? (Later I want the user to be able to pick values from more than one column to pick selected records with)
Please keep in mind that I am very new to Python. I can do this in BASH with select/case construct but can not find how to do it in Python.
Thanks,
John

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Here is one approach.
Assuming the data file is not very big, you can read the whole thing into memory and manipulate it from there. Otherwise, you may want to read just the second column from the csv file to produce the menu.

import csv

data = []                 #array to hold csv data
menu = set()              #menu items; set object will remove dups on its own
f = open("data.csv", "r") #open csv file
reader = csv.reader(f)    #create csv reader
for row in reader:        #for each line in csv file
    data.append(row)      #add it to the data array
    menu.add(row[1])      #add value of the second column to menu
f.close()                 #close csv file

#print out the menu
for item in menu:
    print item

#knowing the menu item user selected, you can print all records for it
selected = "..."
for row in data:
    if row[1] == selected:
        print row

Alternatively, if you have sqlite3 library installed (which comes with standard Python installation), you can read your csv data into a :memory: sqlite database and then simply run queries against the database to produce the desired results. You can run the DISTINCT query to get the list of menu items, and simple SELECT statement with a WHERE clause to filter results when user selects a menu item.