Hi guys:-) I have no experience in programming, and i realise that asking for someone to write an entire programme for me might be a stretch, but unfortunately i havent got any mates that are good at programming. I think the program i need is fairly simple once you know how to write code:-)

I have come across some very uncooperative software on a piece of scientific equipment that I'm currently using. It generates excel files with a huge amount of data points (3-400.000) with each data point having 2 parameters and a time. I need to calculate the average of each parameter for all data points within each second. There are a varying amount of data points for each second, which is why i can't simply have excel do the calculations for me...

The excel files have parameter A in column A, parameter B in column B and the time in column C, if needed i can provide a data file to try the program on:-)

If any kind person will help me, we can figure out a way for me to compensate you for your help:-)

Keeping my fingers crossed, hope to hear from one of you soon:-)

Best regards, casper

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

As a starting point, here is a function which computes the averages for a sequence of values (parameter A, parameter B, time). The assumption is that the input data are sorted by time. Try to run it and see if it does what you want

from itertools import groupby

def gen_averages(input_triples):
    for second, triples in groupby(input_triples, lambda triple: triple[2]):
        a, b = 0.0, 0.0
        n = 0
        for x, y, t in triples:
            a += float(x)
            b += float(y)
            n += 1
        yield (a/n, b/n, second)

def test_me():
    data = [
        (1, 1, 364),
        (2, 4, 365),
        (3, 5, 365),
        (8, -1, 365),
        (3, 2, 366),
        (1, 1, 366),
        (0, 0, 367),
    ]
    for triple in gen_averages(data):
        print(triple)

if __name__ == "__main__":
    test_me()

""" My output -->
(1.0, 1.0, 364)