I can't seem to get a comma embedded string (i.e. an LDIF DN value) to save as a key in an associative list without the value being interpreted as a list itself. I can't find a method that will cause the value of the string variable to be interpreted intact with the commas. I've verified that the "dn" variable is typed as a string.

Here is a snippet of my code:

for (dn, entry) in result_set[i]: results[dn]['printerName'] = entry['printerName'][0] [\code]

Results in a Keyerror over the "dn" variable:

KeyError: 'CN=REHP004,OU=servers,DC=example,DC=com'

Sorry, I'm a python newb. I hope this makes sense.[code=python]
for (dn, entry) in result_set:
results[dn] = entry[0]
[\code]

Results in a Keyerror over the "dn" variable:

KeyError: 'CN=REHP004,OU=servers,DC=example,DC=com'

Sorry, I'm a python newb. I hope this makes sense.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Quick tip: Use the (code) button which will tip the '/' in the closing tag the right way. To get inline code samples (see below), use begin tag (CODE) and end tag (/ICODE)

What type is results? A list cannot work with non-integer index. My error was TypeError: list indices must be integers, not str that was with results = [] ... results[dn] = 'dummy value'. When I replace that with results = {} ... results[dn] = 'dummy value' things worked just fine.

Debugging suggestion when you get inexplicable compiler errors: Start with something bogus and simple such as I did. One at a time add bits of complexity until you get to the needed result.

Thanks for the quick tip.

Here is how I'm initializing/declaring "results": results = {None:{None:None}} I'm not accustomed to the py-terminology yet. I guess what I'm trying to accomplish is a dictionary inside a dictionary, where the top level key reference is the embedded comma value.

Here is my test script. I was successful for the straight forward assignment, but I'm not getting it on the multi-dimensional scenario.

#! /bin/env python

from pprint import pprint