1,105,169 Community Members

Problems with Python and Mac OSX

Member Avatar
Gh0st93
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Dec 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

So her is my problem I have a Macbook running OS 10.6.5 and i have python 2.x and 3.x installed on it and I can run python in the terminal but if I try to run the idle it just bounces for a few seconds then disappears. can anyone help.

Member Avatar
Gribouillis
Posting Maven
3,452 posts since Jul 2008
Reputation Points: 1,140 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 883 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 18 [?]
Moderator
 
0
 

Can you run python idle.py from a terminal ? It would give you the error message ... (I never used a mac)

Member Avatar
griswolf
Veteran Poster
1,144 posts since Apr 2010
Reputation Points: 303 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 264 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 3 [?]
 
0
 

There is a known problem with tkinter on that version of Mac OS (32 versus 4 bit problem). http://bugs.python.org/issue9227

Member Avatar
Gh0st93
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Dec 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Um I don't use tkinter but as for running idle.py I try to run it and it gives me no such directory error.

Member Avatar
Gribouillis
Posting Maven
3,452 posts since Jul 2008
Reputation Points: 1,140 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 883 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 18 [?]
Moderator
 
0
 

Um I don't use tkinter but as for running idle.py I try to run it and it gives me no such directory error.

can you post the full traceback ?

Member Avatar
Gh0st93
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Dec 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/Resources/Python.app/Contents/MacOS/Python: can't open file 'idle.py': [Errno 2] No such file or directory
thats it

Member Avatar
Gribouillis
Posting Maven
3,452 posts since Jul 2008
Reputation Points: 1,140 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 883 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 18 [?]
Moderator
 
0
 

Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/Resources/Python.app/Contents/MacOS/Python: can't open file 'idle.py': [Errno 2] No such file or directory
thats it

idle.py should be in idlelib. Try this in a python interpreter

>>> import idlelib
>>> print(idlelib.__file__)

it should give you the path to idlelib.

Member Avatar
Gh0st93
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Dec 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/idlelib/__init__.pyc


thats what it gave me.

Member Avatar
Gribouillis
Posting Maven
3,452 posts since Jul 2008
Reputation Points: 1,140 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 883 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 18 [?]
Moderator
 
0
 

/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/idlelib/__init__.pyc


thats what it gave me.

Then try python /Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/idlelib/idle.py

Member Avatar
Gh0st93
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Dec 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

it started the idle

Member Avatar
Gribouillis
Posting Maven
3,452 posts since Jul 2008
Reputation Points: 1,140 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 883 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 18 [?]
Moderator
 
0
 

it started the idle

great !

Member Avatar
Gh0st93
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Dec 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

is that how I have to start the IDLE from now on

Member Avatar
Gribouillis
Posting Maven
3,452 posts since Jul 2008
Reputation Points: 1,140 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 883 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 18 [?]
Moderator
 
0
 

is that how I have to start the IDLE from now on

I don't know mac osx well enough (not at all in fact). You could perhaps make a shortcut to idle.py on your desktop and see if a menu allows you to execute the script, or a double click...

You could also post the problem in the mac osx forum http://www.daniweb.com/forums/forum109.html

Member Avatar
Gh0st93
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Dec 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Well I was trying to fix the Idle so I could use SPE cause that doesn't work as well I thought they might be related I'm not sure.

Member Avatar
Gribouillis
Posting Maven
3,452 posts since Jul 2008
Reputation Points: 1,140 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 883 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 18 [?]
Moderator
 
0
 

Well I was trying to fix the Idle so I could use SPE cause that doesn't work as well I thought they might be related I'm not sure.

Have a look in this page too http://wiki.python.org/moin/IntegratedDevelopmentEnvironments

Member Avatar
Gh0st93
Newbie Poster
12 posts since Dec 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

well I haven't found any SPE troubleshooting so is there any other free python IDEs you can recommend cause I'm not sure what to use what do you use?

Member Avatar
Gribouillis
Posting Maven
3,452 posts since Jul 2008
Reputation Points: 1,140 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 883 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 18 [?]
Moderator
 
0
 

well I haven't found any SPE troubleshooting so is there any other free python IDEs you can recommend cause I'm not sure what to use what do you use?

No I can't recommend an ide. I'm using a home-made ide :). But try spyder, it looks promising.

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: