I am very new to python and I have this code that I wrote... I am trying to make it so the turtle will bounce if it touches any of the box.. but somehow the turtle does not fuction the way it suppose.. I wonder can anyone give me a hand?

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Hi!

Your if's in bounce() are not doing what you want ;) Try this:

if (-150 <=  x <= -110) and (80 >= y >= 40):
    turtle.left(40)
elif (-90 <= x <= -50) and (30 >= y >= -10):
    turtle.left(40)
elif (-30 <= x <= 10) and (-20 >= y >= -60):
    turtle.left(40)
elif (30 <= x <= 70) and (-80 >= y >= -120):
    turtle.left(40)

This does also not work properly, but looks a bit better :)

Regards, mawe

I changed the thing to this

if (-150 <=  x <= -110) and (80 >= y >= 40):
			turtle.left(40)
		elif (-90 <= x <= -50) and (30 >= y >= -10):
			turtle.left(40)
		elif (-30 <= x <= 10) and (-20 >= y >= -60):
			turtle.left(40)
		elif (30 <= x <= 70) and (-80 >= y >= -120):
			turtle.left(40)
		elif (90 <= x <= 130) and (-120 >= y >= -160):
			turtle.left(40)
		elif (-150 <=  x <= -110) and (-120 >= y >= -160):
			turtle.left(40)
		elif (90 <= x <= 130) and (80 >= y >= 40):
			turtle.left(40)

but it is bouncing out of range..

Hi Skyline_GTR,

It looks like the second y-coordinate for each of your if-elifs is off by 80, because you told the turtle to walk 40 steps in the wrong direction. In other words, change your polygon() function to look like this:

def polygon(sides,length):
     for step in range(sides):
          print turtle.position()
          turtle.forward(length)
          turtle.left(360/sides)

All this does is print out the turtle's location at the four corners of each box. Check the y-coordinates against the ones in your if-elifs, and I think you'll find that they don't quite match up. I suspect this is because you thought that saying turtle.down() actually makes the turtle point downwards, in addition to setting it down on the canvas - unfortunately, it doesn't!