Hi.
I have a problem that I am tearing my hair out to solve. I am trying to transfer tens of thousands of records into a sqlite db using the script below.
The script seems to run okay and I can see the db growing as it runs to some 19megs but when I try and view the database it is empty and subsequently reports a size of 2kb!

See my rough code below. I am a journalist and not a pro programmer so be gentle.:)
Some of the things I have in there like isolation_level and BEGIN TRANSACTION and check_same_thred solved another problem I was having with the script throwing a "can't open database error' earlier. I don't have clue what they do but they solved that problem - and no doubt caused this one.

Is sqlite maybe the wrong option for a database like this. I'm trying to avoid mysql so I don't have to hassle with servers etc.

import os
import sqlite3
from xlrd import open_workbook

#----------------------------------------
# get data from excel file
os.chdir(u'C://Users//andrew.trench//Desktop//Trust records//Pmb//')
list_of_files=os.listdir(u'C://Users//andrew.trench//Desktop//Trust records//Pmb')

# create SQL table and fill it with data
os.chdir(u'C://Python26//')
database = sqlite3.connect('trusts.db',timeout=10, isolation_level=None, check_same_thread = False)

cursor = database.cursor()
cursor.execute('''CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS pretoria (
   RecordNr INTEGER,
   FileNo TEXT,
   TrustName TEXT,
   AuthorizationDate TEXT,
   Auditor TEXT,
   TrusteeSurname TEXT,
   TrusteeFirstName TEXT,
   TrusteeCompany TEXT,
   TrusteeTelephoneWork TEXT)''')

cursor.execute('BEGIN TRANSACTION')

for filename in list_of_files:

print filename
    book=open_workbook(u'C://Users//andrew.trench//Desktop//Trust records//Pmb//'+filename)
    sheet=book.sheet_by_index(0)
    counter=1
    for rownum in range(sheet.nrows):
        while counter < sheet.nrows:
                database = sqlite3.connect('trusts.db',timeout=10, isolation_level=None, check_same_thread = False)