What does this print statement produce and why? Learned it today, I still must be a newbie.

print('%0*d' % (3, 7))

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

Ok, since  nobody  has  replied  yet, I  thought  I'd  give  it a shot.
Warning -> I'm not an expert, at all. I just started learning python.

The above  statement   prints 7, left zero  padded,  so that  the total
number of digits is 3. You can also put 3 in the format string instead:

print('%03d' % 7)

Is "d" here stands for "digit"?
this bellow code does the same but instead of 0's it prints empty spaces"

print('%0*s' % (3, 7))

what about "s" here? does it mean "string"?

Is "d" here stands for "digit"?
this bellow code does the same but instead of 0's it prints empty spaces"

print('%0*s' % (3, 7))

what about "s" here? does it mean "string"?

Yes, 's' means string. In principle, the str() method is applied to the argument. Better learn to use the new format() operator which is more powerful than %. For example

>>> print( "{0:{1}^{2}s}".format(" 77 ", "=", 60) )
============================ 77 ============================

Some more examples here http://www.daniweb.com/software-development/python/code/232375

It is more like 'use the objects __str__ method ie use str function to object'

How about these, then:

print('%*r' % (6, '7'))
 print('%*r' % (6, 7))

Yes, format is good to learn also, but there is lot of code with 'modulo formatting', so you better learn both.

Yes, 's' means string. In principle, the str() method is applied to the argument. Better learn to use the new format() operator which is more powerful than %. For example

>>> print( "{0:{1}^{2}s}".format(" 77 ", "=", 60) )

Some more examples here http://www.daniweb.com/software-development/python/code/232375

Shows that the language of format is powerfull, but I would still prefer for readability:

print(' 77 '.center(60, '='))

or

print( "{info:{char}^{width}s}".format(info=" 77 ", char="=", width=60))