1,105,295 Community Members

TicTacToe- How to make it recognize a tie?

Member Avatar
SumTingWong59
Newbie Poster
9 posts since Dec 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I've been trying for a while and can't figure it out
http://pastebin.com/4PZj2c9s

Member Avatar
firstPerson
Industrious Poster
4,052 posts since Dec 2008
Reputation Points: 761 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 634 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 24 [?]
 
1
 
  • Check if the board is full, meaning that all cells are occupied and not empty
  • Then make sure there aren't any winning patterns for 'x' -- use your checkAll('x')
  • Then make sure there aren't any winning patterns for 'o' -- use your checkAll('o')
  • If all the above passed then it is a tie
Member Avatar
SumTingWong59
Newbie Poster
9 posts since Dec 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I'm having trouble figuring out how to check if all squares are full, could I get some more help with that?

Member Avatar
firstPerson
Industrious Poster
4,052 posts since Dec 2008
Reputation Points: 761 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 634 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 24 [?]
 
1
 

It should be something like so, in psuedo code:

bool isFull(board){
  bool isFull = true;
  for i = 0 to board.length   # 0 <= i <= 8
    if board[i] != 'x' && board[i] != 'o'
       isFull = false;
       break;

  return isFull;
}
Member Avatar
SumTingWong59
Newbie Poster
9 posts since Dec 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

i am getting an invalid syntax error for that first line
sorry i havent learned bool yet :/
i also cant find anything about 'bool' after googling it

Member Avatar
SumTingWong59
Newbie Poster
9 posts since Dec 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

ok so i kind of understand bool now but still have no idea whats wrong
updated code: (line 36)
http://pastebin.com/9na85n80

Member Avatar
SumTingWong59
Newbie Poster
9 posts since Dec 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

back to square one, any other help would be very appreciated, all i need now is how to check if the board is full

Member Avatar
pyTony
pyMod
6,103 posts since Apr 2010
Reputation Points: 818 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1,056 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 42 [?]
Moderator
Featured
 
0
 
def is_full(board):
    return all(p in tuple('xo') for p in board)

or

def is_full(board):
     return not ''.join(str(p) for p in board).strip('xo')
You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article