So I decided to learn Python as my first programming language... So far I kinda like Python(when i say so far, I mean just now i started it just now), I'm using www.codeacademy.com as a tutorial(more on studying the basics first) and so I'm just wondering will I be able to use my experience in Python as I continue to master it on different programming languages such as C, C++, Java etc. And any suggestions on books regarding Python which assumes an absolute beginner on the programming field. I kinda have a year or so before I can take classes for computer science so using that time will give me huge advantage. And one last thing, can you recommend any tutorials, guides or etc. for deeper understanding on the fundamentals regarding this language.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

one more thing... I'm kinda interested on the web programming side of programming will learning python give me concepts that will of use later with PHP, Java, etc.

The nice thing about Python is it's friendly syntax when compared to Java or PHP.
Also Python is a powerful modular language with many modern programming concepts.

I took the O'Rielly classes for Python and I loved them. The guy I worked with was amazing, easy going, and was very open to discussion. In fact, I learned quite a bit from him.

The down side is that it's a "pay to learn" service. The upside is that you get a real working environment to learn in (a sandbox) and you learn real world working concepts, as well as "good code design" and patterns.

If you are willing to shell out some cash,
http://www.oreillyschool.com/

Otherwise, http://www.tutorialspoint.com/python/index.htm is good, and picking up a book on Python is never a bad thing.