I am a noob at shell scripting and have been reading up on this topic in random google searches.

The only way that I saw that worked was creating a tmpfile.

IE:

crontab -l > $tmpfile
edit $tmpfile
crontab $tmpfile
rm $tmpfile

I need a script that will comment out my watchdog line so I can upgrade mysql w/o any interference. I will also need to add at the end of this script to un-comment it.

Here is the line I would need commented. (no this is not all that is in my crontab)

*/5 * * * * /opt/watchdog/startwatchdog.sh

Any help would much be appreciated!!

Recommended Answers

All 29 Replies

Hey There,

You should be able to do this with vi (assumming your EDITOR environment variable is set to vi).

First, check out this article on how to "really" insert control characters into your scripts (like ^H backspace rather than a ^ symbol followed by a capital H):

http://linuxshellaccount.blogspot.com/2007/10/how-to-really-represent-control.html

Then, you should be able to do something to the effect of this (I set up a user crontab file with some bogus information just to show you how this works (Note that the basic trick to passing actual control characters to a command or in a script is to type ctl-V followed by the, let's say, return key to generate the ^M, etc). Since you need to run two commands to edit, I put them in a subshell () so that they would both execute and feed through the pipe:

$ crontab -l
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE - edit the master and reinstall.
# (/tmp/crontab.Y8BaFrkEZY installed on Wed Jan 7 21:26:33 2009)
# (Cron version V5.0 -- $Id: crontab.c,v 1.12 2004/01/23 18:56:42 vixie Exp $)
0 23 * * * /usr/bin/echo
0 23 * * * /usr/bin/watchdog
0 23 * * * /usr/bin/true
0 23 * * * /usr/bin/true

mgolvach@tlaum-pc1 ~
$ (echo ^[:g/watchdog/s/^/#/^[:wq!^M)|crontab -e
Vim: Warning: Input is not from a terminal
crontab: installing new crontab

mgolvach@tlaum-pc1 ~
$ crontab -l
# (/tmp/crontab.eQFF4ejmGJ installed on Wed Jan 7 21:26:47 2009)