I have a script that I have to interpret. I'm really new to shell scripting, however I have tried to explain the lines to the best of my ability. Can you please look at the script and let me know if I am on the right track (also point out if I'm off track).

Thanks in advance....

[B]#!/bin/sh[/B]
[I]In these lines, #!/bin/sh is used as the first line of a script to invoke the named [I]shell[/I].[/I]
[B]
# adduser - Adds a new user to the system, including building their
#           home directory, copying in default config data, etc.
#           For a standard Unix/Linux system[/B]
[I]These are comment lines. Anything given on the rest of the line is passed [I]as a single argument [/I]to the named [I]shell[/I]. # is used in shell scripts as the comment character. The script typically ignores all text that follows on the same line.[/I]

[B]pwfile="/etc/passwd"    shadowfile="/etc/shadow"
gfile="/etc/group"
hdir="/home"[/B]

[I]These are assignment statements that assign values for the directory locations. On a Unix system, an account is created by adding a unique entry to the /etc/passwd file, an entry consisting of a one-to eight-character account name, a unique user ID, a group ID, a home directory (/home), and a login shell for that user. Modern Unix systems store the encrypted password value in /etc/shadow, so an entry must be added to that file too, and finally the account needs to be listed in the /etc/group file, with the user either as his or her own group or as part of an existing group.[/I]

[B]if [ "$(whoami)" != "root" ] ; then[/B]
[I]This line checks to see if you are logged in as the root. The semicolon separates multiple commands entered on a single line.[/I]
[B]
  echo "Error: You must be root to run this command." >&2[/B]
[I]If you are not signed in as the root, then the script will exit with the error message, “Error: You must be root to run this command."[/I]
[B]
 exit 1[/B]