Hi! I want to learn programming. I'm 14 years old and very fond of computing. The only problem I face is Which programming language should I learn? or should I learn Programming i.e I learn the basics of programming so that I will be capable of learning any programming language. Also, when you recommend me one of the choice I stated above then please give me resources for learning e.g book names or some websites which will start me learning from scratch. Furthermore, I want to state that I want to create cool games, softwares or even Operating Systems from programming, that might look very odd to some people. I have no previous experience of programming except I was taught GWBASIC in school and we were only taught only 4 to 5 commands and statements. I liked it a lot but, then realised that this programming language is not perfect for my ambitions. I like Python, C, Java and C++ programming language.So, please help me.
Awaiting for your replies anxiously!

Andrew_58 commented: this is useful thread as i started to learn programming recently +0

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Python is awesome to start with, i'm 15 now. I started off with python without any knowladge and now I have gone to Java, android development, PHP. It's opened loads of gaps! The best place I think to learn all of these languages is here: http://thenewboston.org/tutorials.php It's completely free video tutorials with voice over. They are great. Hope this helps!

• Mat
commented: Thanks for the site tip! +14

The first thing that most programmers learn is the C programming language. There are books and courses online that present the concepts of programming and the intricacies of C itself very well. I suggest you start with C. Python is also good due to its friendly syntax and programming style but if you want to learn programming the hard way, go for C.