Hello!

I am developing an application for my employer. I am not a programmer but I do it as a hobby.
The story is as follows: we have a store that sells lawn tractors and riders. Every lawn tractor has a serial number, product code etc. I am trying to make a database driven application that stores serial number, product code and other data. I know how to do it with access database and how to add search functions and so on. But the thing is that I know how to do it when a customer buys only 1 product. How should I design a database or the application when a customer buys more than 1 machine, let's say 10 for example? Should I do 10 independent databases and link them somehow to the customer? For example: a database (only)with customers data, then a database for his/her purchased machine nr. 1 and then a database for purchased machine nr. 2 and so on.

What is the most simple solution to this problem. Help me out, I am all out of ideas.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Maybe not as simple as you'd like but what I'd do is

Inventory

• ProductID (PK)
  • ProductCode
  • SerialNumber
  • Cost
  • ProductName
  • Description

Customer

• CustomerID (PK)
  • CustomerName
  • CustomerAddress

Orders

• OrderID (PK)
  • CustomerID (FK)
  • OrderDate
  • Tax
  • TotalCost

OrderItems

• OrderID (PK/FK)
  • LineID (PK)
  • ProductID
  • Quantity
  • TotalCost

PK = Primary key, FK = foreign key. ProductID, CustomerID and OrderID would be IDENTITY fields (generated by the database or application and guaranteed to be unique). These could start at 1 and auto-increment. LineID could start at 1 for each new order and auto-increment.