1,105,534 Community Members

use a new version of webbrowser control in vs 2008

Member Avatar
ayat abukhadra
Light Poster
47 posts since Jul 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hello,
Is there's a way to install a new version of the webbrowser control in the visual studio 2008 to be used instead of the old one ?

Thanks for helping :)

Member Avatar
tinstaafl
Postaholic
2,012 posts since Jun 2010
Reputation Points: 559 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 402 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 35 [?]
 
1
 

basically it looks like you'll have to build one. There are several turotials around that can help you with that. Perhaps if you had a specific problem with it there might be a way around it.

Member Avatar
jeffreyk16
Newbie Poster
16 posts since Mar 2010
Reputation Points: -2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 2 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
1
 

I think it provides an interface to the IE component installed on the user's computer. It should use whatever the user has installed. However, the object model has changed and I hear they are not using shdocvw.dll now. This creates some problems in deploying an app in a mixed environment. If you know which version of IE is installed in user environment, much easier to build app around that version.
You may want to look for another wrapper to use for IE or another browser, or even build your own. There are a few WebBrowser control projects on CodeProject website. Here is something from MS forums that mentions on of the CodeProject samples:
How to MAKE my own webbrowser i Visual Basic 2008
http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/vbgeneral/thread/dbb979b4-2551-4eea-93aa-618adc97a6e5/

Also, search CodePlex.com site for 'WebBrowser'.

jeff

Member Avatar
TnTinMN
Practically a Master Poster
640 posts since Jun 2012
Reputation Points: 418 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 152 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 16 [?]
 
1
 
Question Answered as of 1 Year Ago by jeffreyk16, tinstaafl and TnTinMN
Member Avatar
ayat abukhadra
Light Poster
47 posts since Jul 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Thanks for helping :)

You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: