Hi Vb.net geniuses! I am a complete beginner in programming and would like to seek assistance regarding this very small issue of mine :( It is perfectly working if the CardID is only numbers, but if I mix letters with it this error is showing "Conversion from 'string' to 'boolean' type is not valid" Can someone explain to me why is this error showing? The Query that I created(ScalarQueryCardID) is just selecting the CardID from the database, which is datatype TEXT.

Private Sub Button5_Click_1(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button5.Click

If txtID.Text = "" Then
            MessageBox.Show("Please Input Card ID")

Else
            Dim cardid As String
            cardid = txtID.Text

If Me.TbmembersTableAdapter.ScalarQueryCardID(cardid) Then
                sql = "select * from tbmembers where CardID = '" & txtID.Text & "'"
                da = New OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter(sql, con.ConnectionString)
                da.Fill(ds, "tbmembers")

inc = 0

txtID.Text = ds.Tables("tbmembers").Rows(inc).Item("CardID")
                txtname.Text = ds.Tables("tbmembers").Rows(inc).Item("FullName")
                txtbalance.Text = ds.Tables("tbmembers").Rows(inc).Item("Balance")
                btnadd.Enabled = True
                txtID.Enabled = False
            Else
                MessageBox.Show("No Record Found")
                txtID.Clear()
                txtID.Enabled = True
            End If
        End If
    End Sub

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hi
I suspect it could be this line:
You say the .ScalarQueryCardID is just returning the CardID as a string? Then I think you should be using:
If Me.TbmembersTableAdapter.ScalarQueryCardID(cardid) <> "" Then

Without knowing more about .ScalarQueryCardID I can't really comment.

Thanks G_Waddell for your reply, Now im getting more confused. The <> "" you provided actually works, but how come the conversion from String to Boolean error is showing if I put letters in cardid?