Hi,

I'm a beginner in vb.net and I have a problem. At first I want to say sorry for my language, English is not my first language. Hope u onderstand my prob.

So, I'm working disconected, I have a datagrid and now I want to search in this datagrid by using the textbox that appears automatically above. When you start typing for example the d, it has to search all the familynames starting with the d, like in a phonebook on a cell phone, you get al the contacts starting with that letter.

I hope you understand my problem and that you can help me.

with best regards
Hnna

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Just in case that thread doesn't help, here's some code that might. It uses a datatable as datasource. I load it with a .csv file but that's in a separate function that you can code as you wish. I make the changes to the datatable that are reflected in the datagridview. I use the TextChanged event of the textbox to change which rows are displayed. As you type the selection keeps changing according to what you're typing. Change the value of SearchColumn to search by a different column. As an added bonus when the number of rows is whittled down to 1 the text in the textbox is replaced with the value of the SearchColumn in that row. Some of this might not be very efficient, but that shouldn't matter unless you're using a huge amount of data. Bottom line it works:

Form controls

'
        'DataGridView1
        '
        Name = "DataGridView1"
        '
        'TextBox1
        '
        Name = "TextBox1"

Form code

Imports System.IO
Public Class Form1
    Dim dtMain As New DataTable
    Dim SearchColumn As Integer = 0
    Dim FilePath As String = Application.StartupPath + "\lgbackup.csv"
    Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
        GetData(dtMain)
        DataGridView1.DataSource = dtMain
    End Sub
    Private Sub GetData(ByRef dt As DataTable, Optional ByVal Header As Boolean = True)