I have a program with DataGridView which is bound to MS Access table. When I addept to update I get "Syntax error in INSERT INTO", but no explanation about the syntax error. Column names in the table have a space in them, such as "Last Name". Could that be the problem? Most of this code comes from a tutorial I'm studying.

Public Class Form1
    Dim binding_source As New BindingSource()
    Dim data_table As New DataTable()
    Dim data_adapter As OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter
    Private Sub Form1_Load(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
        Me.DataGridView1.DataSource = Me.binding_source
        Dim conString As String = My.Settings.MyContactsConnectionString
        Dim con As New OleDb.OleDbConnection(conString)
        con.Open()
        data_adapter = New OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter("SELECT * FROM Contacts", con)
        Dim cb As New OleDb.OleDbCommandBuilder(data_adapter)

data_adapter.Fill(data_table)
        binding_source.DataSource = data_table

End Sub

Private Sub btnUpdate_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles btnUpdate.Click
        Me.data_adapter.Update(CType(Me.binding_source.DataSource, DataTable))
        MessageBox.Show("Database Updated")
    End Sub
End Class

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Wrap column names containing spaces with [ ].

Column names in the table have a space in them, such as "Last Name". Could that be the problem?

Yes, very likely. They'd have to be escaped in brackets. Not sure how to fix that though, unless you rename the columns.

I don't see an INSERT query anywhere but if I had to guess it would be the embedded spaces in the column names. It's always a bad idea to use names with spaces. With a non-spaced name you can do

INSERT INTO myTable (idnum,FirstName) VALUES(123,'Jim')

But when you have a space (or when you are using a reserved word) you have to use

INSERT INTO myTable (idnum,[First Name]) VALUES(123,'Jim')

I find it easier to use names like FirstName or First_Name.