Hi there,

I have been working in a company for the last 4 years that develop a large vb6 app. For 3 of those years, we have been expierencing "Out of Memory" issues.

This manifests itself as an Out of Memory error when compiling.

As I said it is a fairly large vb6 app. We're talking over 500 Forms, Modules and classes. The .exe it creates is > 11MB. If it goes any larger than this (by adding new functionality forms, clasess or otherwise), it throws the out of memory

The way we've been dealing with this to date, is by moving parts of the system into a seperate module which would be run by a DDE call to this exe. Obviously this is not ideal..a bit like rearranging the deckchairs on the titanic. We have streamlined our code and have removed all dead variables and functions.

Has anyone expierenced this themselves? Is the only solution not to add more functionality i.e. have we reached the limit size of a vb app?
Any input would be most welcome.

Many Thanks
Paul

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

You can gain as much memory as you want if you create DLLs.

Hi,

Applications what I Work, has got some 400 (Forms+modules+classes), We have never faced such Out of Memory issue..
May be, because, the system I work is with the latest Configuration, Good Memory and high RAM.
The best part is we use external Crystalreports.. So no need to embed reports into our proj..
Say, if you are using Datareports ,
then you can move that functionality to CR or excel reports..

Regards
Veena

You can gain as much memory as you want if you create DLLs.

Unfortunatly the app is at a stage where using DLLs now would require big rewrite of code and is unfeasible. If it was designed correctly from the outset this would of been the approach taken.

We are moving to vb.net in the next 2 years but this itself is a huge undertaking and will be an extremely slow process. Am I right in saying that with .net it is alot easier to include libraries?