Hi all,

I am a PHP programmer with no knowledge on VB, so I apologize for my intrusion :).

What I need is to split a .doc file with N pages into N different documents, using the first word of each page as the name of the documents. In php it's been kind of an impossible mission but I found this threat where it explains how to do it by means of a word macro

vbaexpress.com/kb/getarticle.php?kb_id=727

I found the lines where the macro gets the name of each generated document and saves it:

strNewFileName = Replace(docMultiple.FullName, ".doc", "_" & Right$("000" & iCurrentPage, 4) & ".doc")
docSingle.SaveAs strNewFileName 'save the new single-paged document

However I can't even do the (apparently) very little modification needed to change this so the file is saved with the first word of the page as its name.

Anybody would be so kind to help me with this?

Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

You need to completely understand the .doc format in order to split a document properly. Do you understand the headers and all?

Walt, no need to understand the header and all, as this can be done with automation...

lamakan, all you need to do is to add a reference to word (project>references) and copy the code you referenced. However, you will need to add a few more variables so that you can open the document in question as the code you referenced is from within word...

Use your friends (yahoo, google, ask, answers, bing) and search for vb6 automating word, vb6 open word doc, or whatever else you can think of to find more examples...

Good Luck

Thanxs vb5prgrmr, I will take a look at vb6 automating word. In the meantime given the code below:

Option Explicit 'This goes in the Declarations section of your code module.
'Hopefully it is already there because you have ticked the 'Require Variable Declaration' _
checkbox. (Tools/Options, Editor tab.)

Sub SplitIntoPages()
Dim docMultiple As Document
Dim docSingle As Document
Dim rngPage As Range