Hello. I'm relatively new to Visual Basic 6, but I've been getting around pretty good. But there's one thing I need help with. You know how when your texting someone on your phone and you have to press the same button multiple times to get the letter(s) you want? Well I was wondering how exactly would I go about doing that with a Command Buttons and the Textbox?

I tried doing this:

Private Sub Command1_Click()
	Text1.Text = "2"
	Text1.Text = "A"
	Text1.Text = "B"
	Text1.Text = "C"
	End Sub

But when I click the button, "C" only appears in the Text Box? I want to click the button multiple times, so I would have the options for the above characters, or any characters I choose. Then after one of those characters are entered, I move on to the next button to finish what I am entering, just like texting. BTW, I know I could easily use the keyboard to enter text in this textbox, but I'm currently exploring my options with the textbox. What would this code look like?

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

You need to use a counter in the button click and based on the counter value decide what is displayed in the textbox.

Try the following -

Static xCount As Integer

Select Case xCount
    Case Is = 0
        Text1.Text = "2"
        xCount = xCount + 1

Case Is = 1
        Text1.Text = "A"
        xCount = xCount + 1

Case Is = 2
        Text1.Text = "B"
        xCount = xCount + 1

Case Is = 3
        Text1.Text = "C"
        xCount = 0
End Select
End Sub

That code works, but it keeps deleting the entire text, instead of adding to the existing text.

Then use the following -

Text1.Text = Text1.Text & "2" 'or A, B,C etc.

Oh yeah, I tried that too, but when I click the button multiple times "2ABC" is eventually displayed as a whole, instead of the button cycling through "2", "A", "B", "C", then back to "2".