Hi everyone, I am new to RichTextBox control in VB6
I wanted to select the entire line/row in the RichTextBox, where currently the cursor is.
How should I do it ?
The code should be paste in command button 'cmdSelect'
Thanks in advance :)

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

The RichTextBox control doesn't have a simple way to do this. Also, it's not really standard CUA/GUI behavior. Usually if there's a text box, selecting text is done via mouse drag or via keyboard (e.g. <SHIFT><END>).

That being said, of course it is possible to do. Much depends on how your RichTextBox control properties are set. If you can isolate carriage return/line feed characters, you can use the UpTo and Span methods to select portions of your text. Here's an example that will move the cursor to the immediate prior CRLF, and select text to the immediate subsequent CRLF:

Me.RichTextBox1.UpTo vbCrLf, False, False
Me.RichTextBox1.Span vbCrLf, True, True
MsgBox "Selected: " & Me.RichTextBox1.SelText

The drawback with this method is that you can't always depend on there being a handy CRLF at the end of the line. For example, if you are relying on automatic line (such as when you have Multiline=TRUE and no Horizontal ScrollBar), it becomes more tricky. Then you have to go into Win32 messages, with all the attendant interestingness.
Many of the messages you can send to a standard text box apply, so you can use the EM_LINEINDEX message to get the starting position of the line (using the RichTextBox's GetLineFromChar method, which in turn needs the offset using the RichTextBox's SelStart property). It's not trivial.

Anyway, I hope this gives you something to work with. Good luck!

The RichTextBox control doesn't have a simple way to do this. Also, it's not really standard...

Hey thanks BitBlt, It worked fine.:cool:

But I want more help with that.. Actually my assumption about CURSOR POSITION was wrong. I have a command button 'cmdSelect' which adds a string into RichTextBox as follows: