1,105,263 Community Members

how to add record in listbox connected in database

Member Avatar
vonnoy
Light Poster
31 posts since Feb 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

can anybody help me with a sample code on how to add items in listbox connected in database.
my item list are amount, description, and OR #.

Member Avatar
AndreRet
Industrious Poster
4,492 posts since Jan 2008
Reputation Points: 362 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 499 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 24 [?]
 
0
 

Same as per your previous post, have a look at this discussion.

Member Avatar
vonnoy
Light Poster
31 posts since Feb 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

your post was using lisvtview, but im using listbox.
is listview and listbox the same in code?

Member Avatar
rishif2
Posting Whiz in Training
284 posts since Dec 2012
Reputation Points: 57 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 58 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 4 [?]
 
0
 

use following code to add items to listbox
list1.AddItem "item1"

if you mean retrieve data from database to listbox , then use the following code

con.Provider = "Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0"
con.Open App.Path & "\db.mdb"
rec.Open "select field_name1,field_name2 from tbl", con, 2, 3
While (rec.EOF = False)
List1.AddItem rec.Fields(0)
List2.AddItem rec.Fields(1)
rec.MoveNext
Wend
con.Close
Set con = Nothing

Note that :-
1.Replace field_name1,field_name2 with your table's fields

hope this helps you

Member Avatar
AndreRet
Industrious Poster
4,492 posts since Jan 2008
Reputation Points: 362 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 499 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 24 [?]
 
0
 

Oops, my bad. Seems I'm human after all. I read it as listview.

If you want to add data to the listbox, as rishif2 sampled above. (Thanx rishif)

If you want to retrieve the data from listbox and add to database...

con.Provider = "Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0"
con.Open App.Path & "\db.mdb"
rec.Open "SELECT field_name1,field_name2 FROM tbl WHERE Id ='" & idhere & "'", con, 2, 3

''If edit...
rec!field_name1 = Listbox1.Text
rec.Update

''If new record...
rec.Open "SELECT field_name1,field_name2 FROM tbl", con, 2, 3
rec!field_name1 = Listbox1.Text
rec.Update

con.Close
Set con = Nothing
Member Avatar
vonnoy
Light Poster
31 posts since Feb 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

its ok AndreRet
and thanks a lot guys.
you made it exactly as what i want.

Question Answered as of 1 Year Ago by AndreRet and rishif2
Member Avatar
AndreRet
Industrious Poster
4,492 posts since Jan 2008
Reputation Points: 362 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 499 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 24 [?]
 
0
 

:) Only a pleasure.

Happy coding...

You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article