I am new to VB, and am having problems with a program. I have a textbox where the user enters a grade value, then clicks tghe add button to display the grade in a listbox. The user continues the entries until all grades have been entered. I have also programmed a remove button so that the user could select a grade int he listbox and then click the remove button to delete it from the list. When the user clicks the calculate button, I determine the total number of entries (listgrades.item.count); this value is returned correctly. I then try to copy the contents of the listbox into an array as I thought that would be the best way to determine the highest, lowest, and sum of all the grades. I would then use the sum/total to get an average. I then need to assign a letter grade to each numeric grade and display the total number of grades in each category. I obviously am not doing this correctly, as the strallgrades has a zero value.
My code is below - any assistance would be appreciated!!

'to count the number of items in the listbox
total = LstGrades.Items.Count
Dim curindex As Integer
Dim strallgrades() As String
Dim intCounter As Integer
LstGrades.Items.Add(" ")
For intCounter = 0 To UBound(strgrade)
strallgrades(intCounter) = LstGrades.Items.Item(intCounter)
Next
For curindex = 0 To UBound(strgrade)
Debug.WriteLine(strgrade(curindex))
Next
Array.Sort(strgrade)
Array.Reverse(strgrade)
For curindex = 0 To UBound(strgrade)
Debug.WriteLine(strgrade(curindex))
Next
LblSum.Text = total
 End Sub

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

First of all, did you color the code yourself? If so, please don't. Using code tags properly will color it for you. it's [[B]code=vb[/B]] (no spaces) at the beginning, and at the end of the code [[B]/code[/B]]. Also, indenting your code would help a lot, too.

I can't figure out how your question and the code is related. You mention