Hi,

I need to create multiple TXT files from splitting 1 single TXT file that should look something like this:
xyz;0;12345;data;data;data;data
xyz;0;67890;data;data;data;data
xyz;0;54321;data;data;data;data

Let's say the original file was like above, and named original.txt, I would like the resulting files to be like so with the program generating the file names.

filename : 1.txt
filename : 2.txt
filename : 3.txt

The original filename will be constant(hardcoded) and could be automatically deleted(sent to recycle BIN) when split is done succesfully.

I hope this is enough explanation and anything I can start with would be greatly appreciated. I am an old CLIPPER programmer just starting with VB.

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

what is the criteria or the variable that determines how the original file is split? in the example it is the 3rd set of data that is grouped and split into different .txt files. are you looking for a code example that you can alter for your needs or what are you looking for?

what is the criteria or the variable that determines how the original file is split? in the example it is the 3rd set of data that is grouped and split into different .txt files. are you looking for a code example that you can alter for your needs or what are you looking for?

You are correct , the third field is what determines the file split area. My example had 2 records for each client let's say, but it could be multiple records for a given client and maybe only one for others. I have reasonable knowledge of programming concepts but am not familiar with VB at all. I would have wanted an example witht he correct syntax if possible. Here is, in words, what I think would be a working program:

declare vars
ThisLine = chars or string or other data type???
counter = integer = 1
temp = chars or string or other data type???
open source text file for reading
do while not eof()
read first line of text into ThisLine
client = substring(third field)