samaru 145 a.k.a inscissor Team Colleague

http://builder.com.com/article.jhtml?id=u00320020624gcn01.htm

From article:

[ When to use MySQL]

Why would you use MySQL over PostgreSQL? First, we need to consider the needs of the applications in terms of database requirements. If I want to create a Web application and performance is an issue, MySQL will be my choice because its fast and designed to work well with Web-based servers. However, if I want to create another application that demands transactions and foreign key references, PostgreSQL is the choice.

As an open source developer, I work with both databases on a regular basis, and I typically use all the features of a given database in the design and development process. It wouldnt suffice for me to use PostgreSQL for a database-driven Web site when my application requires performance.

Even though MySQL is not fully compliant with the ANSI SQL standard, I should mention that, while PostgreSQL is closer to the ANSI SQL standard, MySQL is closer to the ODBC standard.

Let me suggest some reasons for using MySQL over PostgreSQL:

MySQL is relatively faster than PostgreSQL.
Database design will be simpler.
You can create a basic Web-driven Web site.
MySQLs replication has been thoroughly tested.
Theres no need for cleanups in MySQL (Vacuum).

[ When to use PostgreSQL ]

Not many Web developers use PostgreSQL because they feel that the additional features degrade performance. The article "Many Web developers prefer MySQL" offers a glimpse into the mentality of Web developers and their reasons for using MySQL. However, PostgreSQL offers many advantages over MySQL.