I'm really new to programming, and I really only know web scripting. But I want to excel in programming.

Anyway, what languages would be used to create something like adobe photoshop? I've created about 2 programs using c++, but they're like those tutorial things where they run in DOS, and the most advanced one I did was adding two numbers. :(

But How would you make a program where it opens outside of DOS, with it's own interface and things like that. Basically something like photoshop, or any program like excel or word. I know I won't be programming something like that soon, but it would be appreciated if someone could tell me where to start.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Hey Mr Gates, I'm a big fan of yours :-).

Adobe Photoshop is written in straight C++. Although C++ is an extremely powerfull language, it has a very steep learning curve. C++ has GUI features, consult the links section for some help. When in doubt, google searching works wonders.

Photoshop has an MDI a Multiple Document Interface. This is when multiple windows are open inside one main window.

Because this is computer programming, there are always many ways to write programs. I love Visual Basic.NET, and C#. C# is a new language written from the ground up geared for the .NET framework and ease of use. Its a fusion of Java and c++ with VB ease. Best of all C# and VB.NET are very GUI geared, and have extensive GDI+ support (image manipulation).

Again, be sure to check out the links section. Their is a comprehensive set of links to get you going on your way.

"C++ has GUI features"

Well, strictly speaking, C++ has no GUI features whatsoever. It knows nothing about such things, they're simply not part of the C++ language or standard library. If your compiler has GUI features (as many do) they're a platform specific extension. For instance MS VC++ comes with everything you need to be able to write GUI apps that run under Windows.

"C++ has GUI features"