I have as ASP.Net 2.0 website with SQL Server as database and C# 2005 as the programming language. The website is almost complete and all the links are working fine. But I want to prevent normal users from opening a couple of pages. When any user clicks on those specific links, another page opens which contains a ASP Login control. The user has to supply a valid userid and password to display the links pointing to the restrictive pages. But being a newbie, I don't know how to leverage the full power of the ASP Login control. Because, if a user gets to know the exact url of the restricted pages, then he/she can bypass the login control and directly access those pages by typing the url into the address bar. I want to prevent this. If the user types the url directly in the address bar, I want that the page itself should check, whether the user has been validated through the Login control and either display the page or point the user to the Login page.

How do I implement this feature??

Thank You.

Lalit Kumar Barik

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

just add this

if (User.Identity.IsAuthenticated == false)
        { Response.Redirect("error.aspx"); }

to the Page_load event of all the pages that you want to restrict access to.. by adding this only the logged in users can see the content of the pages..all those who are not logged in will be redirected to "error.aspx"..

Can you explain a bit?
because User.Identity.IsAuthenticated has default value as true.

Also, User.Identity.IsAuthenticated is read-only. We cannot simply assign the value 'false' if the user enters a wrong password.

Lalit Kumar Barik

hi '=' is an assignment operator whereas '==' is used for comparing..

whenever a user logs in, the value of User.Identity.IsAuthenticated is set to true..