I recently installed MS SQL Server 2008 Developer Edition (on my home PC with Win7 Ultimate 64-bit). I have been trying to get it set up for use, but am having some issue. I keep getting an error when trying to connect to the server. On the "Connect to Server" window, there's a box for 'Server Name'. I thought it was supposed to be MSSQLServer, but it's not working. I am completely brand new to SQL Server and am just starting to learn the language. Any help and advice would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Ryan

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Sql server is designed to be ran on a server, and that's why it says server name. It's the computer name. If you have multiple instances of sql server installed, then it will be computer name\instance name. Also, since the management studio and the database engine are both on the same PC, you should be able to use localhost as the server name.

Under Database Engine, I've tried connecting to the server with multiple Server Names including: (local), MSSQLServer, MSSQLSERVER, SQLSERVER, Ryans-PC\Ryan's, localhost, (localhost). Every time I get this error message:

TITLE: Connect to Server
------------------------------

Cannot connect to localhost.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

A network-related or instance-specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible. Verify that the instance name is correct and that SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections. (provider: Named Pipes Provider, error: 40 - Could not open a connection to SQL Server) (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 2)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?ProdName=Microsoft+SQL+Server&EvtSrc=MSSQLServer&EvtID=2&LinkId=20476

BUTTONS:

OK

I AM able to connect to the server under Integration Services using the Server Name: Ryans-PC\Ryan's, for whatever reason. But that name doesn't work for Database Engine, Analysis Services, Reporting Services, or SQL Server Compact Edition.