1,105,384 Community Members

ms sql connection from visual studio

Member Avatar
judithSampathwa
Posting Pro in Training
453 posts since May 2010
Reputation Points: -2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

hi there i have a database which is MS SQLserver 2008 and ihave a database called AdminApp. from visual studio 2008 i add the database and the connection is succeded, but when i get the connection string and add it to my DB class for the db string and run the application i says, can't login to the database, and note the pasword is displayed as ******* in the connection string. but when i erase ******** and type in the letters for the password the connection is ok and it logs in to the database,
why is this happening,
how can i solve this,
please help me in this
thanxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Member Avatar
debasisdas
Posting Genius
6,542 posts since Feb 2007
Reputation Points: 580 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 476 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 25 [?]
Featured
 
0
 

May be your connection string is stored with wrong credentials.

Find more on connection strings.

Member Avatar
judithSampathwa
Posting Pro in Training
453 posts since May 2010
Reputation Points: -2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

May be your connection string is stored with wrong credentials.

Find more on connection strings.

the credinals are correct, the connection string is below

Data Source=SERVER;Initial Catalog=Employee;Persist Security Info=True;User ID=sa;Password=abc123!

Member Avatar
judithSampathwa
Posting Pro in Training
453 posts since May 2010
Reputation Points: -2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

the credinals are correct, the connection string is below

Data Source=SERVER;Initial Catalog=Employee;Persist Security Info=True;User ID=sa;Password=abc123!

hi please does anyone know the solution for this, when i copy the connection string directly from the database it says that the password is wrong,
but i nave to type the password, which is displayed in readable characters

Member Avatar
debasisdas
Posting Genius
6,542 posts since Feb 2007
Reputation Points: 580 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 476 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 25 [?]
Featured
 
0
 

and you returned after 2 and 1/2 months to say this.

have you tried to use the above provided link ?

Member Avatar
judithSampathwa
Posting Pro in Training
453 posts since May 2010
Reputation Points: -2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

and you returned after 2 and 1/2 months to say this.

have you tried to use the above provided link ?

yes, that dosen't solve anything

Member Avatar
debasisdas
Posting Genius
6,542 posts since Feb 2007
Reputation Points: 580 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 476 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 25 [?]
Featured
 
0
 

Try generating the connection string using an UDL file.

Member Avatar
crishjeny
Junior Poster in Training
98 posts since Nov 2010
Reputation Points: -10 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 3 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

generate database connection string using .net sqldatasource

Member Avatar
judithSampathwa
Posting Pro in Training
453 posts since May 2010
Reputation Points: -2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Try generating the connection string using an UDL file.

udl isn't supported by .net

Member Avatar
judithSampathwa
Posting Pro in Training
453 posts since May 2010
Reputation Points: -2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

generate database connection string using .net sqldatasource

hey that was how i am doing

Member Avatar
debasisdas
Posting Genius
6,542 posts since Feb 2007
Reputation Points: 580 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 476 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 25 [?]
Featured
 
0
 

udl isn't supported by .net

do not use the UDl file directly, generate the connection string using UDL and later use the connection string.

Member Avatar
judithSampathwa
Posting Pro in Training
453 posts since May 2010
Reputation Points: -2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

do not use the UDl file directly, generate the connection string using UDL and later use the connection string.

yes this is throught .NET right.

that is the way I am doing

Member Avatar
crishlay
Junior Poster
133 posts since May 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 17 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 1 [?]
 
0
 

generate database connection string using .net sqldatasource

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: