Hey guys, I'm a newbie to mysql and wanted to know how can I connect 2 tables together with a many-to-many relationship. This is what I have.

create table pharmacy
(
   pharmacy_id int not null primary key auto_increment,
   businessName varchar(25) not null,
   location varchar(25) not null
);
create table item
(
   item_id int not null primary key auto_increment,
   med_name varchar(25) not null,
   dosage varchar(5) not null
);
create table junction
(
   pharmacy_id int not null references pharmacy(pharmacy_id),
   item_id int not null references item(item_id),
   primary key (pharmacy_id, item_id)
);

Let's say there is 1 row in pharmacy and 3 rows in item. How can I connect the tables where it shows all the med_names in the items table

Try 1: When I do (inner join or left join)... I only get 1 med name

select med_name
from pharmacy
inner join item on (pharmacy_id = item_id);

Try 2: When I do this... I get no med names

select med_name
from pharmacy
inner join junction using (pharmacy_id)
inner join item using (item_id);

Any ideas on how I can write a statement where it joins the 2 tables and shows all the med names? Thanks guys. Please if you can provide the code, I would be

more than happy.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

SELECT * FROM pharmacy p
LEFT JOIN junction j ON j.pharmacy_id = p.pharmacy_id
LEFT JOIN item i ON i.item_id = j.item_id

This is also a possibility, but this will not show a pharmacy if there are no junctions/items.

SELECT * FROM pharmacy p, junction j, item i
WHERE j.pharmacy_id = p.pharmacy_id
AND i.item_id = j.item_id

Thank you all. By the way, is there anyway to show all the mednames without having a junction table?