I am new to sql .please help me with this .
the following sql statement works when i use like this

Dim' CmdStr As String = "insert into table1(id,name,ref,amount) select id,name,ref,amount from table where name = A"

I want to copy rows from one table into multiple tables

Dim CmdStr As String 

CmdStr  = "insert into table2 (id,name,ref,amount) select id,name,ref,amount from table where name = A"
      CmdStr  & = "insert into table2 (id,name,ref,amount) select id,name,ref,amount from table where name = B"
      CmdStr  &="insert into  table3 (id,name,ref,amount) select id,name,ref,amount from table where name = C"
      CmdStr  &="insert into  table4 (id,name,ref,amount) select id,name,ref,amount from table where name = d"

Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Seems like you're mixing and matching your questions here. Notwithstanding the code syntax error (can we assume since you're using "DIM" then it's VB?) and the unwise use of reserved words ("table" and "name"), you aren't separating your statements with either a statement terminator (such as ";" or a "GO" statement...that's dependent on what DBMS or flavor of SQL you're using). Next, your string concatenation has left no space or line break between one statement and the next.

If it's VB and MS SQL Server try this:

Dim CmdStr As String
CmdStr = "insert into table2 (id,name,ref,amount) select id,name,ref,amount from table where name = A;" & vbCrLf
CmdStr = CmdStr & "insert into table2 (id,name,ref,amount) select id,name,ref,amount from table where name = B;" & vbCrLf
CmdStr = CmdStr & "insert into  table3 (id,name,ref,amount) select id,name,ref,amount from table where name = C;" & vbCrLf
CmdStr = CmdStr & "insert into  table4 (id,name,ref,amount) select id,name,ref,amount from table where name = d;"