Write a select statement that will display student id, student last name and the
number of courses a student has been enrolled. You will need to join two table, use a
COUNT aggregate and a GROUP BY clause in your SELECT statement.

this is something i found on internet, im not a student and not a uni student who is willing to do his assignment, im just learning it myself... alli did is
`

SELECT 
    s_id,
    s_last,
Count (max_enrl)
From 
  UC_Student, UC_Enrollment
Where
UC_Student = UC_Enrollemnt
Group by s_id, s_last

`

but its not giving me the correct output, what should I do ....

Regards
adil

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

I need to display student id and student last name, plus max enrollment

by using group by and count clause

That was clear from your question. I suggested you share the output you get (sample data/records), and then show what your expected output would be.

this is the whole question;

need to find out these things.....

1. Display student id, student first name, student last name, the students’s faculty
    advisor id, advisor last name, advisor location and phone number. You will join
    uc_student and uc_faculty
  2. Write a SELECT statement that will return the faculty last name, faculty first name
    and the room for faculty whose offices are located in the ‘BUS’ building.
  3. Display data from the uc_course_section table by performing a Three Table Join with
    the uc_course_section, uc_location and uc_course. The SELECT statement will display
    the course section id (c_sec_id), the course name, number of credits, maximum
    number of enrollments in a course section, building and room where the class meets
    and the capacity of the room … and only for courses for term_id 5.
  4. Write a select statement that will display student id, student last name and the
    number of courses a student has been enrolled. You will need to join two table, use a
    COUNT aggregate and a GROUP BY clause in your SELECT statement.