A warning: I'm very new to databases! Hopefully this will be a pretty simple question.

To simplfy my problem, I have a tree of 'meters' that collect data (Let's say electricity meters). I'd normally structure this with objects in a tree, each with a list or some kind of array of data. However, I'm trying to get some experience with databases, and this kind of system really should be based on a database.

So, my solution is this:

One Table containing the meters, any information around them (units etc) and their tree relationship/ID/readable name, contact for maintinence, you name it.

But how should I structure the other table that actually contains the data? I.e the half hourly, say, electricity readings?

With my normal OO style, I'd have this as a data structure with two columns: ID, A datetime stamp, and a value.

But with SQL I don't want a table for each meter, right? So do I have: ID, meterID, dateTime, Value and store all the data in the same table? I'd access individual meter's data by extracting from the meterdata table on MeterID (So, if I had two meters with 1000 entries, there'd be 2000 rows - and each 'MeterID' would be repeated 1000 times,

Like this:

1,Meter1, 01/02/2014, 01:00, 123
2,Meter1, 01/02/2014, 01:30, 125
3,Meter1, 01/02/2014, 02:00, 127
4,Meter2, 01/06/2013, 14:00, 18000
5,Meter2, 01/06/2013, 14:30, 17000
6,Meter2, 01/06/2013, 16:00, 18000

Thanks (total SQL newbie)

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

The best wsy to start your DB design is by answering two question:

1. How will the data be queried?
  2. have a normalized the data as much as possible (ie. remove duplicates or simplify to the lowest level)

If you only need to query the indovudal meters then you almost have what you need excpt for the fact that each meter doesnt have a unique peice of data that identifies it. Consider using IDs for each meter, sich as rowds, to simply the queries and make them specific to each meter.