Hello,
I'm working with SQL server 2005 and a database that has "equipment status" data that is spread across several tables and is time stamped in only one table, there are multiple instances of duplicate records with differing time stamps.

I need to select only the newest time stamped messages for each piece of equipment(a.resource), the criteria is: I need to return b.message_text, a.host, a.resource where a.message_num = b.message_num and the newest a.event_in_secs.

I’m new to SQL server (and databases, sql) and guess ‘cursor’ may be the way to go but I would appreciate any help. Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Do you know what are "INNER JOIN", "OUT JOIN" in SQL???

If no, then learn those concepts first and you'll be able to solve your problem (I think).

If you do, well... can you clarify your question a little more :)

Good luck

I’m new to SQL server (and databases, sql) and guess ‘cursor’ may be the way to go but I would appreciate any help. Thanks

Cursor? yuck! I have been programing SQL Server for 8 years and I have *never* used a cursor they are slooooowww and are completely contrary to set based theory. If you *have* to iterate data in a one by one scenario do it in code where it belongs not in the database. Or use a TSQL while loop or table variables.

You need to look into the GROUP BY clause of the SQL syntax.

Select
    b.message_text, a.host, a.resource,
    max(a.event_in_secs) as max_event_in_secs
from 
    a join b on a.message_num = b.message_num
group by 
     b.message_text, a.host, a.resource

Thanks for the help, I've only been at this a real short while - sorry if I didn't make sense, I only program in LabVIEW so I'm new to sql, but now I know the best path to pursue, I'm glad I didn't waste a bunch of time researching 'cursors'.