Hi all... I've been teaching myself PHP and MySQL for the past few weeks so I'm pretty new at it. But this question has more to do with javascript (which I have been using for some time) than it does PHP.

I am letting the user enter a date into a date field in an HTML form in either of the following formats:

mm-dd-yyyy or mm/dd/yyyy

However in order to load it into MySQL it needs to be in the format yyyy-mm-dd. I have used the following javascript validation in order to put the user entered form into the correct format so that it can be loaded into the database:

function checkForm(form) {
	var regExDate = /^(\d{1,2})[\/-](\d{1,2})[\/-](\d{4})$/;
	var entryDate = form.entryDate.value;
	var mm = "";
	var dd = "";
	var yyyy = "";

if(form.entryDate.value == "" || !regExDate.test(entryDate)){
		alert("Enter a valid Date!");
		return false;
	}else if(form.title.value == ""){
		alert("Enter a valid Title!");
		return false;
	}else if(form.information.value == ""){
		alert("Enter valid Information!");
		return false;
	}else {
		if(entryDate.substr(1,1) == "/" && entryDate.substr(4,1) == "/" || entryDate.substr(1,1) == "-" && entryDate.substr(4,1) == "-" ){
			mm = "0" + entryDate.substr(0,1);
			dd = entryDate.substr(2,2);
			yyyy = entryDate.substr(5,4);
		}else if(entryDate.substr(2,1) == "/" && entryDate.substr(5,1) == "/" || entryDate.substr(2,1) == "-" && entryDate.substr(5,1) == "-" ){
			mm = entryDate.substr(0,2);
			dd = entryDate.substr(3,2);
			yyyy = entryDate.substr(6,4);
		}else if(entryDate.substr(2,1) == "/" && entryDate.substr(4,1) == "/" || entryDate.substr(2,1) == "-" && entryDate.substr(4,1) == "-"){
			mm = entryDate.substr(0,2);
			dd = "0" + entryDate.substr(3,1);
			yyyy = substr(5,4);
		}else {
			mm = "0" + entryDate.substr(0,1);
			dd = "0" + entryDate.substr(2,1);
			yyyy = entryDate.substr(4,4);
		}

entryDate = yyyy + "-" + mm + "-" + dd;
		form.entryDate.value = entryDate;

return true;
	}		
}