I am writting a large if / else tree in an existing website. My include libraries have to be put into the html program using a scripting language called SpeedScript. These includes bring in the login data that I am testing in my if tree. Instead of using the if/else I am trying a switch.

I need to know how to write this if/else tree / switch statement. I am brand new to Javascript. Here is the code I currently have that is not working.

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">

<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE>eSales Center - Customer Links</TITLE>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Cache-Control" CONTENT="No-Cache">
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma" CONTENT="No-Cache">
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Expires" CONTENT="0">

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="SpeedScript">

{shared/esalesvars.i}
{shared/validate-session.i}
{shared/pp-global.i}

assign cLogin = if trim(cLogin) = "" then get-value("operinit") else cLogin.

</SCRIPT>
</HEAD>
<BODY>
<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="javascript">

switch (cLogin)
{
     case "12102":
          <a href="/WI_testweb/12102.xls"><b><font size="3">Matrix</font></b></a><br />
          break
     case "134965":
          break
     case "13953":
          break
     case "13716":
          <a href="/WI_testweb/13716.xls"><b><font size="3">Matrix</font></b></a><br />
          break
     case "111667":
          <a href="/WI_testweb/111677.xls"><b><font size="3">Matrix</font></b></a><br />
          break
     default:
          window.alert("This account does not have a custom matrix");
 }
</SCRIPT>
</BODY>
</HTML>

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">

<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE>eSales Center - Customer Links</TITLE>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Cache-Control" CONTENT="No-Cache">
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma" CONTENT="No-Cache">
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Expires" CONTENT="0">

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="SpeedScript">

{shared/esalesvars.i}
{shared/validate-session.i}
{shared/pp-global.i}