Hi People.

I'm a newbie to javascript.

I have a small issue.

I have a table where I have 5 columns.. I mean 5 <td>

In each <td> there are 7 links.

When I click a link, a container is popped up... Its hidden at first, Now inside the container there is some content and a Close link to close the container.

Different links pop up different sized containers with the respective data...

I managed to get it working.

But the problem is when I click on say first link, the container does get displayed but the links below, get shifted downwards so as the new container gets adjusted.

Its like, say if i have these links:

Character Design

Animation

Layout Design

Now when I click on Character Design link, the container will get displayed, but the below 2 links, Animation and Layout Design will move downwards.

What I wanted was, all parent links to remain fixed. The new popped up container should get displayed on top of others. I guess this can be achieved throught some z-index property of CSS, I've tried it but still the below links shift downward when I click a particular parent link.

Is there any way to fix this...?? Thanks.

Below is my code..

<html>
<head>
<title>my javascript show script</title>

<script type="text/javascript">
    function showStuff(id) 
    {
        document.getElementById(id).style.display = 'block';
    }

function hideStuff(id) 
    {
        document.getElementById(id).style.display = 'none';
    }

</script>

</head>

<style type="text/css">

.cont a { text-decoration:none; font-family: Calibri, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 14px; color:#000; }

#answer1 { border: 1px solid black; color: grey; width: 300px; display:none; margin-left: 115px; margin-top: -15px; padding: 10px; font-size: 12px; font-family: Calibri, Arial, sans-serif; height: 135px; position:relative; z-index: 150; }

#answer1 a { text-decoration:none; color: red; font-weight:bold; }