1,105,310 Community Members

body onload ... popup window

Member Avatar
green-script
Newbie Poster
8 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

trying to make this script work:

<script type="text/javascript">
var tmp='<html><head><title>popup</title>';
tmp+='<script type=text/javascript>';
tmp+='function nowTime(){';
tmp+='var oNowTime=new Date();'; 
tmp+='var iMonth=oNowTime.getMonth();';
tmp+='var iDate=oNowTime.getDate();';
tmp+='var iYear=oNowTime.getFullYear();';
tmp+='var iHours=oNowTime.getHours();';
tmp+='var iMinutes=oNowTime.getMinutes();';
tmp+='var iSeconds=oNowTime.getSeconds();';
tmp+='var iMilliSeconds=oNowTime.getMilliseconds();';
tmp+='var sNowTime=iHours+":"+iMinutes+":"+iSeconds;';
tmp+='return sNowTime';
tmp+='}';
tmp+='function nowDate(){';
tmp+='var oNowTime=new Date() ';
tmp+='var iMonth=oNowTime.getMonth()+1';
tmp+='var iDate=oNowTime.getDate()';
tmp+='var iYear=oNowTime.getFullYear()';
tmp+='var iHours=oNowTime.getHours()';
tmp+='var iMinutes=oNowTime.getMinutes()';
tmp+='var iSeconds=oNowTime.getSeconds()';
tmp+='var iMilliSeconds=oNowTime.getMilliseconds()';
tmp+='var sNowTime=iYear+"-"+iMonth+"-"+iDate;';
tmp+='return sNowTime';
tmp+='}';
tmp+='function showNowTime(){';
tmp+='var oObjId1=document.getElementById("mdate");';
tmp+='oObjId1.innerHTML=nowDate();';
tmp+='var oObjId2=document.getElementById("mclock");';
tmp+='oObjId2.innerHTML=nowTime();';
tmp+='setTimeout("showNowTime()",1000)';
tmp+='}';
tmp+='<\/script></head><body onload="showNowTime()">';
tmp+='<font size="7">';
tmp+='<div id="mdate">mdate</div>';
tmp+='<div id="mclock">mclock</div>';
tmp+='</font></body></html>';
    var newwindow2=window.open('','name','height=200,width=150');

    newwindow2.document.write(tmp);

</script>

What's Wrong ??

any suggestions are welcomed.

thanks

Member Avatar
AleMonteiro
Master Poster
758 posts since Aug 2010
Reputation Points: 115 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 143 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 29 [?]
 
0
 

Line 35 seems to be wrong: tmp+='<\/script>

Member Avatar
green-script
Newbie Poster
8 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

thank you for your response

but, most browsers won't allow unescaped </script> tags even in JS strings.
so must escape the slash, <\/script>

any other suggestions???

Member Avatar
AleMonteiro
Master Poster
758 posts since Aug 2010
Reputation Points: 115 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 143 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 29 [?]
 
0
 

Can't you have another page to be loaded in the new window? Why do you have to write it in JS?

Even if need to pass any data you can do it later. If both pages are in the same domain you can interact with each other with JS.

Member Avatar
green-script
Newbie Poster
8 posts since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Can't you have another page to be loaded in the new window

yes . it's the best and most popular way, with two webpage ...etc.

thanks alot

Question Answered as of 1 Year Ago by AleMonteiro
Member Avatar
AleMonteiro
Master Poster
758 posts since Aug 2010
Reputation Points: 115 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 143 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 29 [?]
 
0
 

Yes, it's used a lot.

But I don't really like it. I prefer to use popup dialogs in the same window, with divs

You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: