Any idea why only the first "click" works? I am relatively new to jQuery, so it is, in all liklihood, something rather simple. Any help is greatly apprecaited!!

$(document).ready(function() {
            $("div.arrow").click(function(){
                $('div.active_arrow').text('↵').removeClass().addClass('arrow').parent().find('div.rss_news_link, div.rss_news_link_odd').height('auto');
                $(this).removeClass().addClass('active_arrow');
                $(this).parent().find('div.rss_news_link, div.rss_news_link_odd').height(+100);
                $(this).text("X");
            });
            $("div.active_arrow").click(function(){
                $(this).removeClass().addClass('arrow').parent().find('div.rss_news_link, div.rss_news_link_odd').height('auto');
            });
        });

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hi paine_today,

Without seeing the related HTML, it might be difficult for others to understand what's going on.

Thanks,
pikpik

I'll work on getting that together in a sensible format, but for the time being, the first function (lines 1 - 7) work. It is the second one that doesn't work right, as if the delcaration of the function is wrong.

Without seeing the markup my only suggestion, if you're using jquery 1.7 or higher I would try using .on() like this:

$("div.arrow").on('click', function(){
        $('div.active_arrow').text('?').removeClass().addClass('arrow').parent().find('div.rss_news_link, div.rss_news_link_odd').height('auto');
        $(this).text("X");
    });
    $("div.active_arrow").on('click', function(){
        $(this).removeClass().addClass('arrow').parent().find('div.rss_news_link, div.rss_news_link_odd').height('auto');
    });
});

I'm pretty sure that since the active_arrow class is added dynamically, you need to use event delegation to register the event handler. Use the on() method.