I am a beginner to advance java and since am learning servlet am getting some weird error in my servlet. I am trying to get the method name and this is the code which i wrote down

import javax.servlet.*;
import javax.servlet.http.*;
import java.io.*;
import java.util.*;

public class NewServlet extends HttpServlet {

public void init(ServletConfig config) throws ServletException
    {
        super.init(config);
    }

protected void processRequest(HttpServletRequest request, HttpServletResponse response)
    throws ServletException, IOException {
        response.setContentType("text/html;charset=UTF-8");
        PrintWriter out = response.getWriter();
        try {

} finally { 
            out.close();
        }
    } 

protected void doGet(HttpServletRequest request, HttpServletResponse response)
   //     processRequest(request, response);
        response.setContentType("text/html");
        PrintWriter out= response.getWriter();
        out.println("<html><body>");
        out.println("your method was "+ request.getMethod());
        out.println("</body></html>");
    }

protected void doPost(HttpServletRequest request, HttpServletResponse response)
       // processRequest(request, response);
        response.setContentType("text/html");
        PrintWriter out= response.getWriter();
        out.println("<html><body>");
        out.println("your method was "+ request.getMethod());
        out.println("</body></html>");
    }

public String getServletInfo() {
        return "Short description";
    }

}

when i try to run this servlet am getting "Class newservlet neither have a main method nor it is the servlet specified in web.xml". Though i added this servlet named newservlet in web.xml but am continued with getting this error and i think so servlet do not have any main method. So please i need help!!!!!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Post the contents of your web.xml file, since the problem appears to be there.